U.S. Senator Tina Smith Announces Major Investment in Electric Vehicle Charging for Minnesota

WASHINGTON, [2.11.22] – Today, U.S. Senator Tina Smith (D-Minnesota) announced that Minnesota will receive a major investment to build out electric vehicle (EV) charging throughout the state. The funding – over $10 million in Fiscal Year 2022 – is a direct result of the bipartisan infrastructure law, which Senator Smith helped pass in November 2021.

The fact is, the switch to electric vehicles in happening around the world; EV sales have more than doubled over the past year,” Smith said. “If America is serious about leading the electric vehicle revolution, we must ensure charging is accessible to all Americans. I’m thrilled to announce this historic investment, which will help Minnesota and the rest of the country accelerate our transition towards a clean energy future and help drivers across the country save money and go the distance.”

Minnesota will receive $10 million for EV charging in FY 2022 and an estimated $68.2 million over the next five years. The funds will be made available under the new National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Formula Program established by President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, to build out a national electric vehicle charging network. The investment is an important step towards making electric vehicle charging accessible to all Americans.

In total, the program will provide nearly $5 billion over five years to help states create a network of EV charging stations along designated Alternative Fuel Corridors, particularly along the Interstate Highway System. States must submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan before they can access these funds. A second, competitive grant program designed to further increase EV charging access in locations throughout the country, including in rural and underserved communities, will be announced later this year.