Senator Tina Smith Applauds New Equity Commission on Rural Community Economic Development

WASHINGTON, [8.26.22] – U.S. Senator Tina Smith (D-MN) applauded the appointment of 12 members to the newly established Equity Commission Subcommittee on Rural Community Economic Development (RCED) at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Among the 12 appointees is Minnesotan Cheryal Hills. The Commission was created as part of the American Rescue Plan, which Senator Smith helped pass earlier this year.

“Agriculture is the backbone of Minnesota’s diverse economy,” said Sen. Smith. “In the Senate Agriculture Committee, I have pushed to make federal programs that help farmers more accessible for underserved communities. I am glad to see this commission, which was made possible by the American Rescue Plan, appoint qualified members like Cheryal Hills who will work to more effectively address the needs of rural and underserved communities.”

The new RCED subcommittee members are:

Cheryal Hills, Minnesota; Davis Carrasquillo-Medrano, Puerto Rico; Calvin Allen, North Carolina; Lakota Vogel, South Dakota; Valerie Beel, Nebraska; LaTonya Keaton, Illinois; Doug O’Brien, Maryland/Washington, DC; Curtis Wynn, Florida; Terry Rambler, Arizona; Larry Holland, Mississippi; Nils Christoffersen, Oregon; and Shonterria Charleston, Georgia.

The RCED Subcommittee will work with the Equity Commission and its Agriculture Subcommittee to provide recommendations to the Secretary that specifically address issues and concerns related to rural development, persistent poverty and underserved communities. The newly appointed subcommittee members reflect diversity in demographics, regions of the country, background, and in experience and expertise.