Sens. Amy Klobuchar, Tina Smith and Rep. Angie Craig Announce Appointees to the Minnesota Farm Service Agency State Committee

WASHINGTON [5.11.22] – Today, U.S. Senators Amy Klobuchar, Tina Smith, and U.S. Representative Angie Craig (all D-MN) announced appointees who will serve on the Minnesota USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) state committee.

Each FSA state committee is comprised of three to five members, including a designated chairperson. The individuals appointed to serve on this committee for Minnesota are:

  • Committee Chair Eunice Biel – Harmony
  • Hannah Bernhardt – Finlayson
  • Kurt Blomgren – Butterfield
  • Lisa Brunner – Mahnomen
  • Tim Velde – Granite Falls

“The FSA State Committee plays a critical role in making sure farmers and ranchers across the state can access and benefit from USDA programs,” said Klobuchar. “These qualified nominees will bring their considerable expertise to helping our farmers and ranchers get the assistance and resources that they need.” 

“As the liaison between Minnesota farmers and federal agriculture programs, the FSA state committee helps connect the work we do in Washington to farmers in Minnesota,” said Sen. Smith. “Their expertise and experiences are crucial to the success of USDA programs. I want to congratulate these nominees on their appointment to these important posts. I am confident they will serve Minnesota famers well and help ensure federal programs are well-administered and accessible.”

“Minnesota needs hardworking, dedicated professionals fighting every day to grow our farm economy and support rural communities,” said Rep. Craig. “I’m grateful that family farmers in my district and across the state will be able to rely on these hardworking and dedicated professionals to connect with USDA and access federal programs. Congratulations to all of the new Minnesota Farm Service Agency nominees – and thank you for your service!”

Members of the FSA state committee are appointed by Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack and serve as a liaison between USDA and farmers in each state, keeping them informed and hearing appeals and complaints. Members of the committee are also responsible for the oversight of farm programs, maintaining cooperative relations with industry stakeholders, and keeping producers informed about FSA programs.

The Farm Service Agency serves farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural partners through the effective and equitable delivery of federal agricultural programs. The Agency offers producers a strong safety net through the administration of farm commodity and disaster programs.

Additionally, through conservation programs, the FSA works to preserve and protect natural resources and provides credit to agricultural producers who are unable to receive private, commercial credit. This includes targeted loan funds for beginning, underserved, women and military veterans involved in agriculture.