Sen. Tina Smith’s Statement on Senate Net Neutrality Vote

WASHINGTON, D.C. [05/16/18]—Today, U.S. Sen. Tina Smith (D-Minn.) voted to restore net neutrality protections that were recently overturned by President Trump’s Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

“I’ve heard from Minnesotans across the state, including large and small businesses, educators, and health care providers that a free and open internet is critically important to their bottom line and to our state’s economic future. They strongly oppose the creation of fast lanes and slow lanes dictated by companies like Comcast and Verizon.” said Sen. Smith. “Today’s vote continues our efforts to restore protections for an open internet that millions of people across the country need and rely upon. Now that the Senate has acted, I hope the House will pass this resolution.”

Today’s vote was made possible after Senator Ed Markey (D-Mass.) introduced a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution that would undo recent action by the FCC and restore 2015 net neutrality rules, which Sen. Smith lent her support to earlier this year. All 49 members of the Senate Democratic caucus voted in favor of the measure and were joined by Republican Sens. Susan Collins (R-Maine), John Kennedy (R-La.), and Lisa Murkowski (R-Ala.)